FACT: There's been an 18% increase in contest participation by members in the past year    
FACT: 64% of KCBS members own three or more grills/smokers    
FACT: 70% of our members grill-out/cook BBQ more than 25 times per year    
FACT: 56% of Americans report having a smartphone, 77% of KCBS members do    
FACT: 70% of KCBS members use Facebook    
FACT: 55% of members choose charcoal when cooking for leisure    
FACT: 23% of KCBS members work in the food service industry as a restauranteur or caterer    
FACT: Learning from friends, family and at competitions is the best way to improve cooking skills    
Joining KCBS has its privileges!
  • The official KCBS monthly newsletter, "The Bullsheet"
  • Access KCBS Preferred Rates at Choice Hotels
  • 15% off your total order from Papa Tony's seasonings and ribs.
  • One-day shopping pass at any Restaurant Depot location when you present your KCBS membership card.
  • 20% off your total order from Sadler's Smokehouse online store.
  • $0.50 off TABASCO Chipotle or any pepper sauce flavor!
Twitter    Facebook
Official Rules   Sanctioning
Red Hot News

Filter news by month:       Filter news by year:

KCBS Board of Directors Special Meeting Quick Notes

April 28, 2017


Wednesday, April 26, 2017


Mike Hayes, President called the meeting to order at 7:08 PM CST

Members Present:  Mike Hays, Mike Peters, Dennis Polson, Mike Richter, Sandy Fulton, Dave Compton, Joe Otto, Arlie Bragg, Randall Bowman, Michael MCDearman, Phillip Brazier

Also Present:  Carolyn Wells, Executive Director

Member Absent:  Wayne Lohman (Out of Country)

Dave Compton moved and Phillip Brazier second that the Board of Directors Meeting go into closed session.  Motion passed.

Sandy Fulton moved and Randall Bowman second that the meeting go in to Open Session at 8:43 PM CST.

Phillip Brazier moved and Joe Otto second that the Board of Directors accept the Charter for the Executive Committee as written and presented to the Board.  Voting as follows:

Mike Peters                            Yes

Dennis Polson                       Yes          

Mike Richter                           Yes

Sandy Fulton                          Yes

Joe Otto                                   Yes

Arlie Bragg                              Yes          

Randall Bowman                   Yes

Michael McDearman             No

Phillip Brazier                         Yes

Motion Passed.

Michael McDearman moved and Mike Richter second to waive the 72 hour rule for making a motion.  Motion passed.

Mike Richter moved that effective immediately organizers may not prioritize team registration based on the team supporting a particular vendor/manufacturer. The only way an organizer may prioritize teams is based on the team’s prior year participation in their competition.  If priority is to be given for the prior year participation, there must be an established deadline for teams to submit their applications.  The deadline may not be any shorter than four (4) months prior to the competition.

Organizers continue to have the ability to not accept an application based on past interactions or behavior of a team.

It is permissible for an organizer to have a competition where priority is given to teams who are customers of a particular vendor/manufacturer, however, it would be considered a competitor series competition.  This motion would be added to the Organizers Handbook.

Voting as follows:

Mike Peters                            Yes

Dennis Polson                       No

Mike Richter                           Yes

Sandy Fulton                          Yes

Joe Otto                                   Yes

Arlie Bragg                              No

Randall Bowman                   No

Michael McDearman             No

Phillip Brazier                         No

Motion Fails.

Mike Hayes thanked Board Members for their time this evening for this Special meeting.

Arlie Bragg moved and Sandy Fulton second that the meeting adjourn at 9:37 PM CST.

Motion passed.

Our Best of the Best 700 180 100+