FACT: There's been an 18% increase in contest participation by members in the past year    
FACT: 64% of KCBS members own three or more grills/smokers    
FACT: 70% of our members grill-out/cook BBQ more than 25 times per year    
FACT: 56% of Americans report having a smartphone, 77% of KCBS members do    
FACT: 70% of KCBS members use Facebook    
FACT: 55% of members choose charcoal when cooking for leisure    
FACT: 23% of KCBS members work in the food service industry as a restauranteur or caterer    
FACT: Learning from friends, family and at competitions is the best way to improve cooking skills    
Joining KCBS has its privileges!
  • The official KCBS monthly newsletter, "The Bullsheet"
  • Access KCBS Preferred Rates at Choice Hotels
  • 15% off your total order from Papa Tony's seasonings and ribs.
  • One-day shopping pass at any Restaurant Depot location when you present your KCBS membership card.
  • 20% off your total order from Sadler's Smokehouse online store.
  • $0.50 off TABASCO Chipotle or any pepper sauce flavor!
Twitter    Facebook
2016 Rules   Sanctioning
Red Hot News

Filter news by month:       Filter news by year:

KCBS Announced Candidates 11-01-10

November 1, 2010


The Board of Kansas City Barbeque Society is pleased to announce the following members have accepted nomination as a candidate for the position of Board of Director.  There are four three year terms to be filled, and one two year unfulfilled term.  The election will be conducted by Elections Online, with electronic voting beginning on January 3, 2011 and conclude on January 13, 2011.  Paper ballots may be requested from the KCBS office.  The winners will be announced during the annual banquet in Kansas City, MO, on January 15, 2011

 This year there are two incumbents seeking re-election: 
Mike Budai and Tana Shupe

The candidates running for a position as a Director this year are:

Candidate                                                         City,State

Ford Alison                                                      Sparta, MI
Sonny Ashford                                               Plattsmouth, NE
Randy Bigler                                                   Huntsville, AL
Arlie Bragg                                                       Mt. Juliet, TN
*Mike Budai                                                    Olathe, KS
Thom Emery                                                  Thousand Palms, CA
John Kirby                                                       Baltimore, MD
Scott Kuklin                                                     Simi Valley, CA
Dale Newstrom                                                Carterville, IL
*Tana Shupe                                                    Tullahoma, TN
Mark Simmons                                               Independence, MO
Jim Stancil                                                        Oxford, GA

Merl Whitebook
Nominations Chairperson
KCBS Board of Directors


Our Best of the Best 700 180 100+